UDP Packet Sending Tool

I have finally got myself to properly build a GUI application for sending UDP packets. I am slowly developing a liking for processing, however I dislike their extremely minimal IDE. It could use a few features. That aside, it is still the easiest programming language to start with that has limitless potential. The application built I currently works, with a few caveats.

  1. Works on Windows XP only, Win7 won’t let me bind to multicast sockets for some
  2. reason, I’m still trying to figure out if this a Win7 or Java issue.
  3. Sends and Receives on two separate ports.
  4. Sends the strings ‘Zero’, ‘One’ and ‘Two’ to the multicast address, which means that any device on the network interface should receive it. I recommend using Wireshark to  confirm this. Use filter UDP.Port==insert_port_number_here.
  5. Receives on multicast too.

And lastly have fun, I have also included a well commented and complete source code. I am currently using 2 libraries .

  1. http://ubaa.net/shared/processing/udp/
  2. http://www.sojamo.de/libraries/controlP5/ 

Download here:
https://www.box.com/embed/5snknc7ok5qhmqb.swf

Screenshot:

About krithik

An Electrical Engineer by training, who occasionally dabbles in programming and design.
This entry was posted in theblog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

